Conservation Commission

Regular Meetings
  • 7 p.m.
  • Generally the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month
  • Town Hall
    25 Green St.
    Room A
    Ipswich, MA 01938
Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes | View Agendas and Minutes Prior to 2013


  • Jennifer Hughes, Chairperson
    Term expires: 2018
  • Mary B. Ffoliott, Vice Chairperson
    Term expires: 2019
  • Catherine Carney-Feldman, Commissioner
    Term expires: 2019
  • Michele Hunton, Commissioner
    Term expires: 2017

  • Brian O'Neill, Commissioner
    Term expires: 2017
  • William Paulitz, Commissioner
    Term expires: 2019
  • David Standley, Commissioner
    Term expires: 2018

About the Commission

The Ipswich Wetlands Protection Bylaw was established in 1990 by the voters of the town to protect the wetlands, public and private water supplies, ground water and surface water, flood plains / flood control, storm water damage prevention, erosion or sedimentation control, water pollution prevention, fisheries land containing shellfish, wildlife habitat, thus protecting the quality of life in Ipswich. It was last updated in 2010.  Associated Rules and Regulations were approved by the Commission in 1992, and were most recently revised in 2010. A link to the Bylaw, as well as the associated Rules and Regulations, and Commission Policies can be found here here.
The Conservation Commission is an 7-member, volunteer board, with 1 non-voting Associate Member who’ve been appointed to protect and uphold the state and local wetland regulations. See the Current Meeting Schedule online.

The Commission is supported by one full-time staff person, Conservation Agent Alicia Geilen; and two part-time staff persons: Conservation Field Inspector, Bill Decie; and Conservation & Planning Assistant, Gail Surpitski.  Contact information for Conservation Staff is available on the Conservation Department's webpage.
Speaker Series