Government Study Committee

Regular Meetings

 The TGSC generally holds regular meetings on the third Wednesday of the month.

Town Hall, 25 Green St, Room (TBD) Ipswich, MA 01938

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are posted on the Town web site prior to the meetings. Minutes are posted on the Town web site following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes | View All Agendas and Minutes Prior to 2012


Five members with three-year terms.

  1. Gary Champion, Chair, Town Meeting Appointment (May 2025)
  2. Edward B. Rauscher, Moderator Appointment (ATM 2024)
  3. Mitch MacDonald, Select Board Appointment (June 2024)
  4. Emilie Smith, Secretary, Finance Committee Appointment (July 2025)
  5. Jenny Connolly, School Committee Appointment (June 2026)

About the Committee

The Town Government Study Committee (TGSC) was permanently established by the December 10, 1962, Town Meeting vote. The TGSC composition, appointment, and responsibilities were added to Town bylaw Chapter 35, Sections 42-44 by the May 10, 2022, Town Meeting vote. 

The TGSC is a Town resource for research on best lawful practice in Town governance and municipality organization, authority, and functions. The Committee makes annual reports and recommendations to the Select Board and Town Meetings. 


Electric Light Department / Commissioners Report

Handbook For Boards and Committees

Link to Ipswich Town Charter and Bylaws

Contact the TGSC