Historical Commission


The Historical Commission is typically meets at 7:00 P.M. the 2nd Monday of every month. Meetings are currently being held on Zoom with zoom login information posted with the agenda each month. Pre-pandemic, meetings were held in person in the Mary P. Conley Room of Town Hall (located on the lower level).

The Planning & Development Department provides administrative assistance to the Commission.

If you have an inquiry for the Historical Commission, please attend the meeting during the Citizens' Queries portion of their meetings. You may also submit an inquiry in writing to the Planning Office at kristeng@ipswichma.gov which will then be shared with the Commission.

A Partial List of Historic Buildings in Ipswich, updated in October 2021, can be viewed here.

About the Commission

The Ipswich Historical Commission was established in 1964 by Town Meeting to support the preservation of the Town's historical properties and archaeological assets. It acts to advise property owners, implements the town’s Demolition Review Bylaw when necessary, and works with the Planning Department and in cooperation with the Building Department. The Ipswich Historical Commission has information on historic houses, the Mary P. Conley award, historic publications, and and much more.


  • Joe Bourneuf, Chair (2024)
  • Linda Grimes, Vice Chair (2022)
  • Laura Gresh, Secretary (2023)
  • Lee Hathaway, Treasurer (2022)
  • Stephen Miles (2024)
  • William Effner, Jr. (2024)
  • Jaime Novack (2024)
  • Alternate Members
  • Gordon Harris, Town Historian (2022)
  • Rachel Meyer (2024)
  • Christopher Morse (2024)
  • Mariana Ovnic (2024)
  • Christine Sarantopoulos (2024)

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes | View All Agendas and Minutes Prior to 2013